Health care professional training programmes

Ensuring people with dementia receive high-quality care, provided by appropriately trained professionals and carers, is essential to meeting the challenge of dementia.

If care is not of sufficient quality, it can have a negative impact for people with dementia, their families and carers.

As part of the ADI accreditation process, organisations and/or training programmes will be assessed against the ADI standards, which have been summarised below.

Standard 1: The Programme

The applying organisation’s training programme should be well designed, of suitable level, with clear learning outcomes and an appropriate balance between knowledge and skills acquisition.

What criteria is assessed for meeting Standard 1?

Standard 2: Content

The content of the training programme should be specific to the area of dementia care and awareness, building on existing knowledge and skills acquired through training in other areas of dementia care such as: nursing, GP training, social worker training. It should factor in the basic principles of dementia care.

What criteria is assessed for meeting Standard 2?

Standard 3: Training materials

The training materials should be well structured, easily understood and provide trainees with sufficient resources to support their learning and comprehension of the various topics delivered during the training session.

Standard 4: Assessment

The assessment methods should be in line with the overall aims and objectives of the training and should support the course design in terms of its level, objectives, intended learning outcomes and overall ethos. The assessment should also be valid and reliable in the area of dementia care.

What criteria is assessed for meeting Standard 4?

Standard 5: Trainers

Those delivering training should be sufficiently knowledgeable in the area of dementia care to deliver such a programme. They should be qualified and skilled to do so and active in the delivery of care and training. They should also be aware of and sensitive to ethical issues, aware of and sensitive to cultural values and attitudes, and demonstrate a concern for those with dementia.

What criteria is assessed for meeting Standard 5?

Standard 6: Trainees

The programme should specify entry criteria for trainees, which should lead to a suitable candidate undertaking the programme of training and a suitable mix of trainees.

What criteria is assessed for meeting Standard 6?

Standard 7: Resourcing and administration

There should be adequate financial and administrative resources to support the trainer and trainee to undertake the delivery and attend the programme of study.